Skip to content
Cumberland Counts — Cumberland, in numbers.Local help →

Cumberland, in numbers

Projects

Cumberland council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

5 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Citadel Station, Station Road Business Park and George Square

Carlisle Station Gateway

New public spaces, crossings and relocated parking would make arrivals at the railway station easier. The southern parking site is one part of a wider gateway scheme.

Southern car park and public-space plans approved · evidence dated 2026-04-22

Responsible body: Cumberland Council and Network Rail

What the source says: The council reports planning approval on 15 April for the 239-space car park and associated public-space work. It identifies the scheme as a partnership project with further construction phases.

Next thing to establish: Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£40.5 million wider Station Gateway project, as stated in the April 2026 update.
Funding
£27 million Borderlands funding plus a capped £13.5 million transport-department contribution to Network Rail; not the price of the car park alone.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

On the right track: Carlisle Station Gateway plans get the go ahead →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep Carlisle’s station permissions connected to delivery →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Carlisle city centre and wider city

Carlisle’s draft 25-year masterplan

The draft masterplan links the city centre with wider growth areas and connections. Its possible projects need further feasibility work before they can be confirmed.

Draft masterplan consulted on from 29 June to 31 July 2026 · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cumberland Council and Mott MacDonald

What the source says: The council describes a 25-year direction for Carlisle, covering both the wider city and city centre. It explicitly says every proposal needs more detailed feasibility assessment and design. The consultation document is not funding approval or a construction commitment.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named location or council-wide remit does not establish benefits in every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Carlisle’s draft 25-year masterplan →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Turn Carlisle’s long list of ideas into a clear sequence →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Workington

Workington Innovation Centre

The council confirms the centre opened in July. This is separate from the surrounding Gateway road works, which still had later stages in the checked update.

Opened in July 2026 · evidence dated 2026-07-31

Responsible body: Cumberland Council

What the source says: The council confirms the centre opened in July. This is separate from the surrounding Gateway road works, which still had later stages in the checked update.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Workington Gateway and investment update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Turn Workington’s new workspace into sustained local use →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Maryport

Maryport Maritime Museum at Christ Church

The former church is being converted for museum collections. Its former premises have already become Shipping Brow Gallery; the new museum’s opening remains unverified.

Exterior repaired; interior being remodelled; 2026 opening forecast · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cumberland Council

What the source says: The former church is being converted for museum collections. Its former premises have already become Shipping Brow Gallery; the new museum’s opening remains unverified.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Maryport Maritime Museum project →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Finish Maryport’s museum with usable public access →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →